low carb dieting

img_6030

 

 

How is everyone today? I want to discuss something, we as a society are obessed with diets. Why? could it be because we are having health issues we cant seem to get a handle on? could it be because we are tired of being sick and tired?

I have a history of diets that would fill a book. I did hte low caloire diets the most. low fat then low carb diets.  A friend of mine as we speak is doing semi starvation diet, and I know what the end result will be, and it wont be pretty. Anyway this is experience and research talking.

I decided I had to do something, I know forcing my body to go without macronutrients it cries for wouldnt work, as my body is determined to survive (a good thing by the way) just frustrating when your obese and tired. I thought about it for a while, mulled over what I knew, what I did not know, and decided. I am going low carb but with a twist.

I will make sure to eat some so called bad carbs ketogenic diets avoid like the plague. What carbs? well let me see, oat bran cereal? a tablespoon of raw honey? a big bowl of strawberries? (they want people to portion control even low carb fruits).  What else? I decided if my body wants it I will give it, like a raw potatoe with mineral salt when I am craving crunchy carb with salt.

I have been following this over a month and I am reporting some interesting observations. one is I listened to my body (as a example one day) and was really hungry for some rice, beans, meat and cheese and salad, so I ate a bowl of it, and drank some pop ( I had been following it for about 3 weeks and not having alot of cravings for carbs) and did you know I did not much of appetite the rest of the day? I was absolutly not hungry? many people who follow low carb find when they eat carbs they cant stop eating the rest of the day.

even I found myself needing to eat constantly when I eat alot of carbs in one setting. but no, not this time. anyway that was a few days ago and the past couple of days I have had little to no appetite for carbs. In fact I am not waking up hungry like a wolf. LOL. Anyway I feel more refreshed in the morning usually I am dragging. weird. I am also not hungry even as I type this and do not feel shaky, foggy or lightheaded or weak. Hum interesting.

But anyway I am finding that carbs are not bad, they are just no appropriate if you having some health issues with it. And I am wondering if low carb diets dont have to be a permanet diet to better your health and lose weight (not sure if I lost any but I sure do feel better) if all you have to do is go low carb to heal your body so it can handle glucose better from whole high quality carbs like fresh fruits, veggies, whole grains and beans.

For one thing if your insulin levels are always to high day or night, (higher than naturally they would be otherwise) because those cells are avoiding the sugar dont want it for whatever reason (but are still straving however because they  are empty and need energy hence the hypoglycemia symptoms we all seem to have?)Then it makes sense to get that insulin down, and not jsut to burn fat either, to get the leptin message through to the brain? once the brain realizes your very fat (otherwise it would of never made you eat the house down everyday) it can send the signal to eat less?

well I am seeing that happening gradually. I have not only lost cravings for alot of carbs, (still have a small amount and it takes only a small amount to quiet it) but finding I am going longer and longer between meal before I get hungry or and food desire.

Or the fat cells main job may have not been just storage of fat, its job could of been there to sweep up all the sugar that is floating around and not going anywhere and is damaging the body cells with all that glycation. And its job could of also been to recycle cholesterol that gets damaged via the same mechnisms and itself could be getting damaged and thus must increase in number (you get fatter) to handle the load, many cells make the load lighter and less damaging?

Just some ideas here, so if you cannot handle alot of sugar (carbs) then what is a body to do for energy? fat. not only is fat used for energy it is used for rebuilding the cells damaged parts. Interesting, the substance so maligned by the world is actually what is going ot heal us? fat takes longer to oxidize (as anyone who left a stick of real butter on the counter finds out) and doesn’t interfere with insulin leptin signaling.

do you suppose the medical establishment knows this or do you suppose they are like the average human not sure of anything?  I will report back more findings as I preceed. nothing like having a diet that actually decreases appetite. when I was low caloring dieting (weight watchers was once I did) I was constantly hungry over time that hungry grew, my running suffered. my energy levels suffered and after a about 3 months I could not stand the fake famine anymore and binged and ate the whole planet.

Never again, now when I hear health gurus tout anything requiring you to suffer, (pain is a signal tothe body something is a miss, a threat to survival) cant be right. so far so good with this diet, in fact I am  starting to get mildly hungry. But not sure what I am hungry for yet.

What do you all think? Here is a theory I have, if you eat low carb that gives the body a chance to heal from all the damage from a junky food diet, or weight loss dieting history, and a low quality diet longterm? so if that is hte case maybe quality carbs will eventually be okay once this healing is over. But how to tell if that is the case? when do I know when to eat them again? I figure my body my appetite and my cravings (as long as craving is for fruit veggies whole grains and beans) will tell me. YOu think?

Well just some musing and sharing today. thanks for reading.

 

 

Leave a Reply

