more walk about/peach tree talk

my poor peach tree has the bad case of leaf curl, I might have to chop it down as I read about the treatments and it si too extensive and iffy to waste time or money, I read that red haven is one that is resistant so I will be getting a couple in the late summer early fall.  this really sucks after seeing such pretty flowers. I think it’s roots may hve hit a water pocket underground and is just to wet, makes sense it is a bit wetter on that side then the south side of my house. did get a couple of apple trees tho planted them last week. a yellow delicious and a gala. yummy. maybe i will post some pictures of them.

anyway here are some more pictures I took yesterday, anyone know what kind of bush this is? the flowers are softly sweet and it gets red berries on it and I love it, let me guess it is not native isnt it?

another walkabout 001

another walkabout 002

another walkabout 003

another walkabout 005

another walkabout 010

know what kind of shrub this is? I didnt plant it a bird did, I like it so I kept it, it is very thorny and gets red berries on it, the flowers pretty too,  here is another picture of it,

another walkabout 009

I just did this to part of my front yard this week,like? those potted strawberries are only there temporarily until I build a raised bed for them.

another walkabout 016

another walkabout 017

plants are the one with no leaves on the bottom stem is a rosa rugosa, the variagated next to the house is varigated grass with snow on the mountain, the plants in the corner are hortatunia, and hardy fig, the plants on the outer edges of the bed are horatunia, two types actualy, the plant by the garage leafing out is a crape myrtle, the plants in the hanging pots one is oak leaf ivy and I don’t know the names of the rest. plant on the steps there is a scafflera, house plant, the trellis will be for red morning glories that are growing in pots as we speak. I have just finished another bed today will post pictures later after I get it completly looking decent, here is picture of my carolina all spices in bloom,

another walkabout 021

flower,

another walkabout 023

another walkabout 054

now for the dogwoods

another walkabout 049

another walkabout 030

another walkabout 038

another walkabout 029

there you have it for now, by all hope you like.

8 responses to “more walk about/peach tree talk

  1. Lucky you to have blooming dogwoods peeking through the trees. Such a beautiful sign of Spring!

  2. A very enjoyable walk about your yard and garden, thank you for sharing…Great photos.

    • thank you very much, hopfully soon I will get a zoom lens and be able to take pictures of the crittors around here, they are so cute and pretty and interesting to watch.

  3. Hi Roberta, very nice photos and post, thanks for sharing. As to ID the of shrubs the first one is a honeysuckle which most likely in non-native, but there are native species.and the second shrub is Japanese barberry. You can tell by the single throne, where as native ones have 3 bunched together. I like the picture of the Carolina spice bush with it red flowers.

  4. I see you are indeed a tree person, Roberta! Thanks for visiting “my” dogwood philosophy, which I now have to revise because of a flaw, not in the trees, but in the thinking. Best, Wm. Eaton, montaigbakhtinian.com

  5. Hi Roberta,
    Your shrub with the red berries that the birds planted is indeed an invasive–it’s a honeysuckle. We have them all over my neck of the woods. Lonicera is the botanical name on it.

    It probably has a lovely scent–or it may not, depending on which version of the seeds your birds dropped.

    Love your photos–no need to worry about a better camera.

    Karla

  6. Tammalene Mitman

    Roberta, thanks for visiting my blog!

    About the barberi, you might want to keep reading about it, for it looks like a non-native invasive that reduces the ability of the land to support creatures other than birds. In our local woods, it covers the forest floor, creating an impenetrable thicket. Although it is pretty, it will spread FROM your property, just as it was spread TO your property. We humans introduced this plant to our shores, not realizing the danger of doing so. I try to kill it on our little farm by cutting it back and pulling it up. See this National Park Service link for more info: http://www.nps.gov/plants/alien/fact/beth1.htm . Nature has a way of rebalancing herself, but sometimes we humans make it awfully hard for her to do so!

Leave a Reply

