metabolic syndrome

howdy gang, how are you all doing? is it cold where you are? is surly  here,yikes! who turned down the thermostat! at least the sun has been shining parts of the day each day.  does anyone else kind a go into a semi conscious state during winters, where they just want to sit around and only get up to do things they absolutly have too. do you notice increase in weight and appetite? do you zone out for long periods of time? do you suffer obesity hypertension and high cholesterol and other health problems? I know I do.

I know I have been dealing with metabolic syndrome for like 40 years. when I was younger I didnt know that is what I had, but anyway was just reading in a pubmed article, short and sweet but informative article about it. they are now starting to call metabolic syndrome as winter metabolism. why? well they are starting to realize that obesity hypertension and other parameters of metabolic syndrome (MS) is a winter response, weight gain along with hypertension and high cholesterol is a survival response (I have been calling it that for a long time) to signals of winter (low vitad3) due to lack of sunshine (I am sure there are other signals to the body too like quality of food and amount of sunshine hitting the pineal gland through the eyes) is a triggor for this.

Another feature of winter is lower food quantity and quality. this is probably a triggor too, (you know all the dieting people do for weight loss; weight loss alone can be a triggor for overeating to regain weight to survive the winter you keep imposing on it by NOT EATING enough. there I said it. so STOP DIETING! okay I yelled enough.

So if your in a survival or long term stressful situation that is depleting nutrients or your undereating or eating poorly, the last thing your body wants is the added stress of forced exercise!! exercise is a stress on an already stressed out system. so you feel lazy and unmotivated. well duh!!! you would think we would get this, you think I would get this (well finally did) that laziness and over eating is a winter response (even in summer)now I will not force exercise anymore, will do so only when I get the signal to do so.

so metabolic syndrome is a survival mechinsm in a enviroment of poor quality food or lack of certain nutrients like minerals and vitad3 and other nutrients (like protein especially plant proteins). for me I found if I drop my vitad3 below 5000 or 6000 iu my symptoms gradually start to show their ugly faces, it  takes about 2 or 3 weeks to start to manifest itself. but once I get the amount back up after a week I start to notice the symptoms resolving themselves. remember I did megadosing for almost a whole year, before decreasing to a maintenance of 2000 iu per day as recommended by doctors. so now my dose will remain at 5-6 thousand per day until furthur notice. obviously I lost the ability to make it myself (you all know how much I love the sun) I am starting to sleep better and feeling better, I did add some vitamines supplements like c, b, and some minerals a little bit of fiber and still take my cinnomon and chromium too.

alas!!! the road is long and hard and the view has not always been very pleasant, in fact it has been downright annoying, depressing and frustrating.  can you relate? yikes where is the end of the rainbow, never mind that, where is that darn rainbow? cannot seem to locate it. oh well will have to carry on as I can still see light at the end of this path.

thanks my dear followers, hope this was informative and helpful. still working on my dinosuars, did a dinosaur shirt, learning how to draw a t rex, triceratops, dilpilosaurs?, cant remember all the names. need to practice some more.

 

 

 

 

One response to “metabolic syndrome

  1. What an interesting article. I struggle with my diet in the winter. Been on Weight Watchers for over a year now.Doing good, down over 30, but seem to coast during this time of year. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this.

Leave a Reply

